Fountain of Youth?

I was just telling someone the other day that it seems like when we start figuring out this thing called life, it’s over with. I would not mind having an extra 10, 20 or 50 years of reasonably good health in order to take advantage of what little I have learned. For me, I would spend those years cultivating my relationships with my family, friends and kids. What I have learned along the way is that other than the relationship with my Creator, nothing else really matters.

In a discovery that Science magazine hailed as one of the top 10 breakthroughs of 2011, researchers from the Mayo Clinic published results showing they could markedly delay the onset of age-related diseases in mice by killing off the rodents’ senescent cells. Senescent cells have stopped dividing and accumulate as organisms age. Though seemingly dormant, they’re not: Just as old cars in junkyards can leak oil for years, they emit harmful substances that appear to fuel many of the diseases that strike older people.

via The Hunt for an Anti-Aging Pill Is on – US News and World Report.

Leave a Reply

